Audubon Pilgrimage Facebook
Audubon Pilgrimage

Welcome to Audubon Pilgrimage 


John James AudubonFor over four decades the sponsoring West Feliciana Historical Society has thrown open the doors of significant historic structures to commemorate artist-naturalist John James Audubon's stay as he painted a number of his famous bird studies and tutored the daughter of Oakley Plantation's Pirrie family, beautiful young Eliza.

When the artist arrived in the St. Francisville area in 1821, he recorded in his journal that the rich lushness of the landscape and flourishing birdlife "all excited my admiration."

Having set for himself the staggering task of painting all the birds of this immense fledgling country, Audubon would find the inspiration to paint dozens of his bird studies while residing at Oakley.

Popular as the central focus of the Audubon State Historic Site for more than half a century, Oakley has been beautifully restored and furnished in the late Federal style. Read more...


Pilgrimage Chairpersons Present & Past



2019 Pilgrimage Chairperson

Amy Temple Louviere


Amy Temple Louviere, chairman of the 2019 Audubon Pilgrimage, is a native of St. Francisville and has served in numerous Pilgrimage volunteer positions, including as a junior hostess at Propinquity in the first Pilgrimage in 1972.  Since then Amy has been a docent, a home coordinator, co-chairman of the Light up the Night Soiree and flower arranger for numerous Pilgrimage tour homes. Read more...




2019   Amy Temple Louviere

2018   Willia Lemoine Parkerson

2017  Lisa Hegwood Horn

2016  Susanne Warren Tully

2015  Christian Daniel Tregle 

2014  Mary Daniel Godke

2013  Missy Meaux Higgins 

2012  Lauren D'Aquin Field

2011  Elaine Vinci Sullivan*

2010  Mary Fort Thompson

2009  Liz Adkins Butler

2008  Linda Bryant Flynn

2007  Mary Ellen Cornette Daniel

2006  Susan Franks Leake

2005  Lynn LeSeur Leak

2004  Jane Smith Daniel

2003  Julie Bourgeois Brashier

2002  Leigh Anne Bennett Jones

2001  Toni Stephens McVea

2000  Shirley Nolen Pourciau*

1999  Lucie Leake Cassity

1998  Betsy Powell Daniel

1997  Arlene Hardouin Hughes









1996  Sylvia Cestia Leake

1995  Patricia Pope Babin

1994  Marilyn Moore Price

1993  June Rubelius Perkins*

1992  Ruthie Bennett Davis 

1991  Evelyn Baur Smith*

1990  Clara Ruth Fore Saint*

1989  Margaret Hobgood Lemoine*

1988  Anna Bess Odom Kelley

1987  Dorothy Reames Temple

1986  Betty Sue Kendrick Daniel*

1985  Patsy Mahoney Hardouin

1984  Anne Honeycutt Bennett*

1983  Nancy Klindworth Vinci

1982 Evelyn Alston Wilcox*

1981  Elizabeth Anne Harvey Bennett*

1980  Anne Daughtry Wilcox*

1979  Beryl Gene Daniel

1978  Irma Bennett Bryant*

1977  Rachel Shannon Hall*

1976  Dorothy Noble Wilson*

1975  Frances Crain McVea*

1974  Charlotte Sturdivant Hobgood*

1973  Miriam Scales Garrett*

1972 Lucille Perkins Leake*

       * Deceased